high Alert
We're Now Open: Latest Information & Service Updates
- More info »
low Alert
Leisure Services Re-Opening In West Oxfordshire: Latest Information
- More info »

Members of a wheelchair dance team are celebrating after claiming a top honour at the West Oxfordshire Sports Awards.

West Oxfordshire Wheelchair Dance (WOWD) won the Club of the Year title at the ceremony which recognised the achievements of 60 individual athletes.

Lizzie Large, instructor with WOWD, said: “This is wonderful surprise and recognises that we are all about what people can do, not what they can’t do.

“It is about everybody’s individual journey regardless of their ability and I am very proud of all of them.”

Formed just three years ago, WOWD now has 24 members and last year won a string of awards at the National Para Dance Championships with Alistair Oddy and Kate Goodwin claiming the men’s and women’s freestyle singles titles.

The Unsung Hero award went to Graham Mills, groundsman at Cassington Sports and Social Club.

Graham, 50, who has worked at the club for eight years, manages the teams, does all the publicity and even installed the CCTV himself, as well as carrying out his ground keeping duties.

He said: “I am really honoured but it is a team effort including the committee and the parish council. This award is for everyone involved.”

Cllr Michele Mead, Cabinet Member for Health and Leisure at West Oxfordshire District Council, which helped organise the awards at Witney’s Windrush Leisure Centre along with leisure provider GLL, said: “There are so many impressive people who have achieved so much at a young age and I am amazed by their achievements.

“We are truly privileged to have such a depth of sporting talent in the District and I look forward to following their progress as their careers develop on the national and international stage.”



GLL Sports Foundation Awards

Sixty individual athletes received awards from the GLL Sports Foundation which totalled £35,500 in value.

Rod Noble, Area Community Sports Manager at GLL, said: “This is the ninth year we have hosted these awards and every year the standards grow higher.

“We salute the tremendous achievements of these elite athletes and are delighted to be able to contribute to their success.”

Picture shows: Colin Coughtrey, National Communities Manager for GLL and Cllr Michele Mead, Cabinet Member for Health and Leisure at WODC (third right) with the winners at the West Oxfordshire Sports Awards.

Below is a list of all the award winners:

Thomas Miller, Eleanor Bisp, Erin Stewart, Mieke Bedlington, Woody Casciaro, Samantha Cartwright, Alexandra Scrivener, Oliver Stacey, Christian Mitchell, Lauren Mellings, Milly Pittaway, Charlie Driver, Mela Moseley, Ella Edwards, Rowan Bisp, Jessica Miller, Eleanor Perks, Amelia Guida, Georgia Duff, Madison Squire, Eleanor Browne, Maddie Good, Lucy Howarth, Cameron Davidson-Wright, Reuben Wertheim, Aidan Wilkinson, Janette Cardy, Phoebe Muir, James Birnie, Chris Goodfellow, Graham Le Good, Dan Blake, Maddy Cook, Paisley Hillier, Camille Duff,
Luke Butler, Jake Williams, Joshua Wilks-Hanley, Freddie Holford, David Pittaway, Janka Penther, Max Warburton, Lucy Millington, Libby Gotta, Billy Wotton, Alysha-Paris Godfrey, Faye Godfrey, Devon Shadbolt, Lois Moseley, Manon Bradley, Liana Perry, Katie Nutt, Lucy Kavanagh, India-Mae Thompson, Megan Kealy, Sophie Harris, Jed Smithson, Laura Turberville, Emily Ions, Natalia Mitchell.